Quick Answer: RYOBI RY40550 vs Greenworks 40V Gen 2 — Which Should You Buy in 2026?

The Greenworks 40V Gen 2 is the better value for most homeowners: it has a brushless motor, claims up to 100 cuts on 4×4 lumber per charge, and costs $179.99 as a tool-only purchase. The RYOBI RY40550 is the more complete kit because it includes a 4 Ah battery and charger, but its $345.80 price is $165.81 higher. Choose RYOBI if you need the battery and charger; choose Greenworks if you already own compatible batteries or want the lower entry price.

Winner by Category

CategoryWinnerEvidence
Power/SuctionGreenworks 40V Gen 2Both use 40V brushless platforms, but Greenworks specifically claims its brushless motor provides 2x more torque. RYOBI describes its motor as delivering gas-like power.
Cutting performanceGreenworks 40V Gen 2Both have 16-inch bars. Greenworks gives a concrete claim of up to 100 cuts on 4×4 lumber on a single charge, while the available RYOBI data does not provide a cut-count figure.
Navigation/Ease of useGreenworks 40V Gen 2Chainsaws do not have navigation systems. Greenworks lists an automatic oiler and pro-style tensioning for chain lubrication and adjustment; RYOBI lists a variable-speed throttle for control.
Vibration/HandlingRYOBI RY40550RYOBI explicitly lists a variable-speed throttle that provides power and control. Greenworks counters with easy tensioning and a mechanical chain brake, but no weight or vibration figure is provided for either saw.
Runtime/BatteryGreenworks 40V Gen 2Greenworks claims up to 100 cuts on 4×4 lumber per charge. RYOBI includes a 4 Ah battery, but the research does not provide a runtime or cut-count result.
NoiseGreenworks 40V Gen 2Greenworks identifies quiet operation as a benefit of its brushless motor. Neither listing provides a measured decibel rating.
Price & valueGreenworks 40V Gen 2At $179.99, the tool-only Greenworks saw is $165.81 less than the $345.80 RYOBI kit. RYOBI’s higher price includes the battery and charger.

1
Best Seller

RYOBI RY40550 16 in. 40V Brushless Cordless

RYOBI
In Stock
9.6 /10
CSMSM Score
This score is based on Amazon customer ratings, review volume, and sales signals — not a hands-on lab test by our team.
Updated: Jul 24, 2026
Last update on Jul 24, 2026. Product prices and availability are accurate as of that date/time and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply. Affiliate links / Images, product titles, and product highlights from Amazon.
The RYOBI RY40550 is a 16-inch 40V brushless cordless chainsaw kit with a 4Ah battery and charger included. It is built for homeowners who want gas-like cutting power, variable control, and cordless convenience for yard and property maintenance.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Brushless motor for strong cutting performance
  • Variable speed throttle improves control during use
  • 16-inch bar is a practical size for many yard tasks
  • Battery and charger are included, reducing extra setup costs

Cons

  • Battery-powered runtime is limited by charge, so longer jobs may require recharging or a spare battery
  • A 16-inch bar may be too small for very large-diameter logs or heavy felling work
  • The listing does not provide weight, oiling details, or runtime specs, which makes side-by-side comparison harder
Detailed Review

Overview: The RYOBI RY40550 is a 16-inch, 40V brushless cordless chainsaw kit designed for homeowners who want a simpler alternative to gas models. The included 4Ah battery and charger make it a convenient ready-to-run package.

Performance and Features: Its brushless motor is positioned for gas-like power, while the variable speed throttle adds useful control for trimming, limbing, and general property cleanup. The 16-inch bar and chain make it a versatile size for common outdoor cutting tasks.

Drawbacks and Considerations: Like most battery chainsaws, cutting time depends on charge, so longer sessions may require a second battery or a recharge break. The 16-inch bar is practical for many jobs, but it is not the best fit for very large logs or demanding professional felling work.

Verdict: This model is a strong choice for homeowners who want cordless convenience, included accessories, and a manageable cutting size. It is best suited to routine yard maintenance rather than all-day heavy-duty forestry work.

2
Editor's Pick

Greenworks 40V 16-Inch Brushless Cordless Chainsaw

Greenworks
In Stock
9.7 /10
CSMSM Score
This score is based on Amazon customer ratings, review volume, and sales signals — not a hands-on lab test by our team.
Updated: Jul 24, 2026
Last update on Jul 24, 2026. Product prices and availability are accurate as of that date/time and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply. Affiliate links / Images, product titles, and product highlights from Amazon.
The Greenworks 40V 16-Inch Brushless Cordless Chainsaw Gen 2 is a tool-only electric saw for tree felling, limbing, pruning, and firewood. Its brushless motor, automatic oiler, and chain brake make it a low-maintenance option for homeowners and property care.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Brushless motor and automatic oiler support efficient, low-maintenance use.
  • Mechanical chain brake adds a safety-focused feature for everyday cutting.
  • Compatible with the Greenworks 40V platform and 75+ compatible tools.
  • Tool-only format works well for buyers who already own Greenworks 40V batteries.

Cons

  • Battery and charger are not included because this is a tool-only listing.
  • A 16-inch cordless saw may be less suitable for large, sustained cutting jobs than higher-output gas models.
  • The supplied data does not list detailed specs such as weight, chain pitch, or battery capacity.
Detailed Review

Overview: The Greenworks 40V 16-Inch Brushless Cordless Chainsaw Gen 2 is a tool-only electric chainsaw built for homeowners and property maintenance users who want a cleaner alternative to gas. It is designed for tree felling, limbing, pruning, and firewood cutting.

Performance: The brushless motor is rated for 2x more torque, with the added benefits of quieter operation, longer runtime, and extended motor life. The 16-inch bar, automatic oiler, and pro-style tensioning support everyday cutting tasks and simpler upkeep.

Considerations: This listing includes only the saw, scabbard, and operator's manual, so the battery and charger must be purchased separately if you do not already own Greenworks 40V power tools. It is also better aligned with general yard work than with heavy, continuous-duty logging.

Verdict: The strongest value goes to users already in the Greenworks 40V ecosystem or anyone looking for a low-maintenance cordless chainsaw for routine cutting without gas, fumes, or pull-start hassle.

Specifications Side-by-Side

The two saws occupy the same general size and voltage class, but they are sold in different configurations. This distinction is central to the price comparison: RYOBI is a ready-to-use kit with a battery and charger, while the Greenworks Gen 2 listing is for the tool only.

SpecificationRYOBI RY40550Greenworks 40V Gen 2
BrandRYOBIGreenworks
Product nameRYOBI RY40550 16 in. 40-Volt Brushless Lithium-Ion Cordless ChainsawGreenworks 40V 16" Brushless Cordless Chainsaw, Gen 2
Voltage platform40V40V
MotorBrushless; described as delivering gas-like powerBrushless; Greenworks claims 2x more torque, longer runtime, quiet operation, and extended motor life
Bar length16 inches16 inches
Battery includedOne 40V 4 Ah OP40404 batteryNot included; tool-only listing
Charger includedOne OP404 40V chargerNot included
Oiling systemNot specified in the supplied product dataAutomatic oiler
Chain tensioningNot specified in the supplied product dataPro-style tensioning
Chain brakeNot specified in the supplied product dataMechanical chain brake
ThrottleVariable-speed throttleNot specified in the supplied product data
Compatible tool ecosystemRYOBI 40V platform is referenced by the included 40V battery and charger75+ compatible tools
Amazon rating4.4/54.5/5
Listed price$345.80$179.99
Included equipmentChainsaw, 4 Ah battery, and chargerChainsaw only

Performance

Core Performance

Both products are 40V cordless chainsaws with 16-inch bars and brushless motors. That makes the comparison relatively straightforward: neither model has an advantage in listed bar length or nominal voltage. The meaningful difference is how much performance information each manufacturer supplies. RYOBI positions the RY40550 around “gas-like power,” while Greenworks makes the more specific claim of 2x more torque from its brushless motor.

Greenworks also states that the Gen 2 can make up to 100 cuts on 4×4 lumber on a single charge. That is a useful benchmark for homeowners because it gives a sense of what the saw is intended to handle during a session. It is a manufacturer claim rather than a shared, independently controlled test result, and actual results will vary with wood, technique, chain condition, and battery capacity. Still, it is the only concrete cutting-runtime figure supplied for this pair.

The RYOBI should not be dismissed simply because its available listing lacks a cut-count result. Its brushless motor and 16-inch bar put it in the same broad category as the Greenworks. The included 4 Ah battery also means the kit arrives ready for cordless work. However, there is not enough supplied evidence to assign RYOBI a specific number of cuts, minutes of runtime, or cutting-speed advantage.

Handling & Ergonomics

RYOBI’s clearest handling feature is its variable-speed throttle. This lets the operator vary power and is advertised as providing control, which can be useful when starting a cut, moving between smaller limbs and larger wood, or adjusting pressure during the cut. The available product data does not provide the saw’s weight, balance, vibration rating, or dimensions, so it would be speculative to call it lighter or more comfortable than Greenworks.

Greenworks focuses on practical controls and safety hardware. Its listing includes pro-style tensioning, which is intended to simplify bar and chain adjustment, plus a mechanical chain brake for added safety and reduced risk of injury. The automatic oiler also removes the need to manually apply chain oil during ordinary operation. These features make the Greenworks appealing for a homeowner who values straightforward setup and routine use.

Neither saw is described with a measured vibration figure, handle design, bare-tool weight, or battery-installed weight in the supplied data. As a result, the handling winner is based on control and listed usability features rather than a claim that one chassis is physically lighter. RYOBI wins the narrow throttle-control comparison; Greenworks offers more clearly documented convenience and safety equipment.

Runtime / Fuel & Maintenance

There is no fuel tank or gasoline engine on either model. Both are cordless lithium-ion chainsaws, so operation depends on a charged battery. RYOBI includes one 40V 4 Ah battery and one 40V charger. That makes the RY40550 a complete purchase for someone starting from zero in the RYOBI 40V system.

Greenworks sells the Gen 2 as a tool-only product. The listing says it can deliver up to 100 cuts on 4×4 lumber on a single charge, but it does not identify the battery capacity used for that claim in the supplied data. Buyers therefore need to own or obtain a compatible Greenworks 40V battery and charger. The advantage is platform flexibility: Greenworks advertises compatibility with more than 75 tools.

For maintenance, Greenworks has the better-documented setup. Its automatic oiler supplies chain lubrication, and its brushless motor is promoted as having an extended motor life. RYOBI’s supplied listing confirms the brushless motor and battery kit but does not specify an oiler, chain-brake design, tensioning mechanism, or service interval. That does not prove the RYOBI lacks these parts; it only means they cannot be compared from the provided information.

Best Use Cases

The Greenworks 40V Gen 2 is positioned for tree felling, limbing, pruning, and firewood. Its 16-inch bar, claimed 2x torque, automatic oiler, mechanical chain brake, and up-to-100-cuts claim make it the stronger value-oriented choice for general property maintenance. The saw is especially compelling when the buyer already owns a Greenworks 40V battery or expects to add other tools to that platform.

The RYOBI RY40550 is best suited to a buyer who wants one package containing the saw, battery, and charger. Its 16-inch bar and brushless motor are appropriate for the same broad homeowner category, while the variable-speed throttle emphasizes power control. It also makes sense for someone already invested in the RYOBI 40V ecosystem, although the supplied research does not provide a count of compatible RYOBI tools.

Neither listing supplies a maximum recommended tree diameter, chain speed, chain pitch, chain gauge, weight, decibel rating, or independently measured runtime. These are important specifications for professional or unusually demanding cutting. If your work requires a precise power-to-weight comparison or documented commercial-grade performance, use the manufacturer specifications and safety guidance before buying rather than relying on the headline 40V rating alone.

Maintenance & Running Costs

Battery chainsaws avoid gasoline, fuel mixing, spark plugs, exhaust emissions, and engine-related servicing. That simplifies ownership compared with a gas saw, but the cutting system still needs attention. Chain oil, chain sharpening or replacement, bar inspection, and proper chain tension remain part of normal chainsaw ownership. The supplied product data does not give prices or replacement intervals for those consumables, so the long-term cost cannot be calculated precisely here.

Greenworks has an advantage in stated maintenance convenience because its Gen 2 includes an automatic oiler and pro-style tensioning. The oiler is designed to deliver proper chain lubrication, while the tensioning system is intended to make bar-and-chain adjustment easier. The mechanical chain brake is a safety component that should be checked as part of responsible operation, although no inspection schedule is provided.

RYOBI’s listing confirms that the purchase includes an OP404 40V charger and an OP40404 40V 4 Ah battery. This reduces the initial need to buy platform hardware separately. The product data does not identify RYOBI’s oiling system, chain tensioning method, brake type, replacement chain, or servicing requirements. Buyers should consult the included manual for lubrication, sharpening, storage, and battery-care instructions.

The battery is the most important running-cost distinction. With RYOBI, the 4 Ah battery is already part of the $345.80 package. With Greenworks, the $179.99 price covers the tool only, so the real starting cost is higher for anyone who needs both a battery and a charger. Conversely, an existing Greenworks 40V owner does not need to pay for duplicate charging equipment. The same logic applies to the RYOBI kit if you already own its required battery and charger, though the supplied listing is specifically the complete kit.

Features & Usability

RYOBI keeps its feature story focused on power delivery and operator control. The brushless motor is marketed as delivering gas-like power, and the variable-speed throttle is intended to provide ultimate power and control. Its 16-inch bar and chain provide the same listed cutting reach as the Greenworks. The biggest usability benefit is practical rather than electronic: the box includes the battery and charger needed to get started.

Greenworks supplies a broader set of explicitly listed chainsaw features. Brushless motor technology is claimed to provide 2x more torque, longer runtimes, quiet operation, and extended motor life. The automatic oiler supports continuous chain lubrication, while pro-style tensioning is intended to make adjustment easier. A mechanical chain brake adds a clearly identified safety feature. These details give the Greenworks a more complete feature advantage on paper.

The Greenworks platform also has an ecosystem selling point: the product listing says it is compatible with 75+ tools. This can improve value if one battery system will cover multiple outdoor jobs. That ecosystem does not eliminate the need to purchase a battery and charger for this tool-only listing, but it can make those purchases more useful over time.

Both products are cordless, so there is no power cord to manage while cutting. Both also use 16-inch bars, a size that suits the general homeowner tasks named in the Greenworks listing, including pruning, limbing, and firewood. Neither listing provides a bar cover, tool bag, spare chain, battery indicator, or other accessory, so those items should not be assumed to be included.

Price & Value Analysis

At the supplied prices, the Greenworks 40V Gen 2 costs $179.99 and the RYOBI RY40550 costs $345.80. The nominal difference is $165.81, with Greenworks costing less. That is not an apples-to-apples package comparison because Greenworks is tool-only and RYOBI includes both a 4 Ah battery and a charger.

Greenworks is the clear sticker-price winner. Its lower price is particularly persuasive for existing Greenworks 40V owners, who can use the batteries and charger they already have. Even new buyers may prefer the lower tool price if they are building a broader 40V collection and will use the battery with multiple tools. The up-to-100-cuts-on-4×4 claim and 75+ compatible tools strengthen the value case, although the battery used for that cut claim is not identified in the supplied data.

RYOBI is worth the premium when the included power equipment matters. The package contains the saw, one OP40404 40V 4 Ah battery, and one OP404 40V charger. A first-time cordless-tool buyer avoids the immediate task of sourcing a compatible battery and charger. RYOBI also offers the stated advantage of variable-speed throttle control, which may be more important to some users than Greenworks’ lower tool-only price.

Ratings are close: RYOBI is listed at 4.4/5 and Greenworks at 4.5/5. That small difference should not be treated as a laboratory performance result. It does, however, show that both products have strong marketplace ratings in the supplied product data. The better value depends mainly on whether the buyer needs a complete kit or already has access to the relevant battery platform.

Which Should You Buy?

Choose RYOBI RY40550 if…

  • You need a complete purchase with the chainsaw, a 40V 4 Ah battery, and a 40V charger included.
  • You value the listed variable-speed throttle for adjusting power and control during cuts.
  • You prefer RYOBI’s 40V platform or already use compatible RYOBI equipment.
  • You are willing to pay $345.80 to avoid buying battery and charging hardware separately.
  • You want a 16-inch brushless cordless chainsaw marketed as delivering gas-like power.

Choose Greenworks 40V Gen 2 if…

  • You want the lower listed price: $179.99 compared with RYOBI’s $345.80 kit price.
  • You already own a Greenworks 40V battery and charger, making the tool-only format more economical.
  • You want the supplied claim of up to 100 cuts on 4×4 lumber on a single charge.
  • You prefer the explicitly listed automatic oiler and pro-style tensioning system.
  • You want a mechanical chain brake and a brushless motor marketed for 2x more torque and quiet operation.
  • You are building around a platform advertised as compatible with 75+ tools.

Consider a different model if…

  • You need a documented chain speed, weight, vibration rating, sound level, chain pitch, or chain gauge before buying.
  • You need independently measured cutting speed or runtime rather than manufacturer listing claims.
  • Your work routinely exceeds the homeowner tasks identified for the Greenworks saw, such as pruning, limbing, firewood, and tree cutting.
  • You need a longer bar than 16 inches or a clearly documented professional-duty specification.
  • You do not already own a compatible battery and want the lowest complete-kit cost; compare the total price of the Greenworks saw plus battery and charger with other kits.
  • For more options at every price point, see our full guide to Best Chainsaws.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the RYOBI RY40550 more powerful than the Greenworks 40V Gen 2?

The supplied data does not provide a measured power or cutting-speed test that proves one saw is faster. Both use a 40V brushless motor and a 16-inch bar. RYOBI markets its motor as delivering gas-like power, while Greenworks claims 2x more torque. Based on the available evidence, Greenworks has the stronger specific torque claim, but the comparison should not be presented as a verified horsepower result.

Does the Greenworks 40V Gen 2 include a battery and charger?

No. The supplied Greenworks product title identifies it as a tool-only chainsaw. The listing does not include a battery or charger in the provided product data. It is compatible with the Greenworks 40V system, which is advertised as covering more than 75 tools. Add the cost of the required battery and charger when comparing it with the RYOBI kit.

What comes with the RYOBI RY40550?

The RYOBI listing includes the 40V brushless 16-inch chainsaw, one OP404 40V charger, and one OP40404 40V 4 Ah battery. It is therefore a complete kit according to the supplied product data. The listing does not specify additional chains, bar covers, cases, or other accessories.

Which chainsaw is quieter?

Greenworks has the advantage in the available descriptions because its brushless motor is specifically promoted for quiet operation. Neither product has a measured decibel rating in the supplied data, so there is no exact noise difference to report. Both are cordless electric chainsaws, but “quieter” here is a qualitative Greenworks claim rather than an independently measured result.