Quick Answer: EGO Power+ CS1613 vs Greenworks 40V 16″ — Which Should You Buy in 2026?
The Greenworks 40V 16″ is the better value for most homeowners: it costs $229.61, includes a 4.0Ah battery and charger, and has the higher listed customer rating at 4.7/5. The EGO Power+ CS1613 costs $344.98, or $115.37 more, but gives you a 56V platform, a listed 20 m/s chain speed, and IPX4-rated weather-resistant construction. Choose EGO for the stronger-looking specification package and Greenworks for lower upfront cost and easier everyday yard cleanup.
Winner by Category
| Category | Winner | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Power/Suction | EGO Power+ CS1613 | EGO lists a 56V battery system and 20 m/s chain speed. Greenworks lists a 1.5kW brushless motor, but does not provide a chain-speed figure in the supplied product data. |
| Cutting performance | Greenworks 40V 16″ | Greenworks describes its 16-inch bar and chain as suitable for trees and limbs up to 28 inches in diameter. EGO has the same 16-inch bar size but no diameter claim in the supplied data. |
| Navigation/Ease of use | Greenworks 40V 16″ | Both are cordless and include a battery and charger. Greenworks adds a two-step easy start with no gas, priming, or pull cord, while EGO specifies tool-free chain tensioning. |
| Handling | Tie | Both have a 16-inch cutting setup and cordless operation. The supplied data does not include either saw’s complete operating weight, vibration measurement, or handle dimensions. |
| Runtime/Battery | Greenworks 40V 16″ | Both include a 4.0Ah battery. Greenworks specifically describes extended cutting time and says its battery holds a charge for 12+ months. |
| Noise | Tie | Neither product listing supplies a decibel rating or a measured noise comparison. |
| Price & value | Greenworks 40V 16″ | At $229.61, Greenworks is $115.37 less than the $344.98 EGO package and has the higher listed rating, 4.7/5 versus 4.0/5. |
Pros
- Battery and charger are included, making the kit more complete out of the box.
- Tool-free tensioning is convenient for quick maintenance.
- Weather-resistant construction is a useful feature for outdoor work.
- The included Oregon chain adds replacement value for compatible 16-inch saws.
Cons
- No runtime, charge time, or battery capacity performance details are provided beyond the included 4.0Ah pack.
- This is a cordless electric chainsaw, so it may not match the sustained power of larger gas saws for heavy-duty felling.
- The bundle includes an extra chain, but no additional bar, case, or other accessories are listed in the data.
Overview: The EGO Power+ CS1613 is a 16-inch 56V cordless chainsaw kit designed for homeowners and landscapers who want a convenient battery-powered cutting tool. The bundle also includes an Oregon R56 chain for 16-inch bars, which adds practical replacement value.
Performance: With a 20 m/s chain speed and tool-free chain tensioning, the saw is built for efficient everyday cutting and easier maintenance. The IPX4-rated weather-resistant construction is a helpful detail for outdoor use, while the low-vibration, low-kickback chain design supports smoother handling.
Drawbacks: The product data does not list runtime, charge time, or full accessory details, so buyers cannot judge long-session performance from the specs alone. As a cordless model, it is also better suited to routine property care than to the most demanding gas-saw jobs.
Verdict: This bundle makes the most sense for users who want a ready-to-use cordless chainsaw kit with a practical replacement chain included. It is a solid fit for yard maintenance, light storm cleanup, and general property trimming where convenience matters more than maximum cutting power.
Pros
- Brushless motor for efficient cutting performance and reduced maintenance compared with brushed designs.
- Battery and charger are included, improving convenience for first-time Greenworks buyers.
- Automatic oiler and tool-free tensioning simplify upkeep during regular use.
- Safety features such as chain brake and low-kickback design are built in.
Cons
- Battery-powered runtime will be limited compared with gas chainsaws for very large or prolonged jobs.
- The provided data does not include weight, so portability and handling are hard to judge precisely.
- A 16-inch bar is versatile, but it is still best suited to homeowner and light-to-moderate duty tasks rather than the largest timber.
Overview: The Greenworks 40V 16" Brushless Cordless Chainsaw is a cordless electric chainsaw designed for homeowners who want a simpler alternative to gas-powered equipment. It comes with a 4.0Ah battery and charger, and its overall setup points to convenient yard and property maintenance.
Performance and Features: Based on the listed specifications, this model combines a brushless motor with a 16-inch bar and chain for cutting branches, fallen limbs, and firewood tasks. Helpful details include an automatic oiler, tool-free chain tensioning, a chain brake, and a low-kickback design, all of which improve day-to-day usability and safety.
Drawbacks and Considerations: As a battery-powered chainsaw, it is not meant to match the nonstop runtime of a gas saw on demanding jobs. The product data also does not provide weight or exact runtime figures, so buyers should expect the usual cordless tradeoff of quieter operation and easier maintenance in exchange for battery limits.
Verdict: This Greenworks chainsaw is best for homeowners, gardeners, and storm-cleanup users who want a practical, low-maintenance tool with no fuel mixing or pull-starting. It is a strong fit for routine cutting work and for anyone already using the Greenworks 40V platform.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Images, product titles, and product highlights from Amazon.
Specifications Side-by-Side
These two products occupy the same basic size class: both are cordless chainsaws with 16-inch bars, 4.0Ah batteries, and chargers included. Their most important specification difference is the battery platform. EGO uses 56V, while Greenworks uses 40V. Voltage alone does not establish a complete cutting-performance result, so the comparisons below also account for the chain-speed and motor information actually provided.
| Specification | EGO Power+ CS1613 | Greenworks 40V 16″ |
|---|---|---|
| Brand | EGO Power+ | Greenworks |
| Model | CS1613 | 40V 16″ Brushless Cordless Chainsaw |
| Bar length | 16 inches | 16 inches |
| Battery voltage | 56V lithium-ion | 40V lithium-ion |
| Battery capacity included | 4.0Ah | 4.0Ah |
| Charger included | Yes | Yes |
| Motor information | Not specified in the supplied product data | 1.5kW brushless motor |
| Listed chain speed | 20 m/s | Not specified in the supplied product data |
| Oiling system | Not specified in the supplied product data | Automatic oiler |
| Chain tensioning | Tool-free chain tensioning system | Not specified in the supplied product data |
| Safety features | Not specified in the supplied product data | Chain brake and low-kickback design |
| Start system | Not specified in the supplied product data | Two-step easy start; no gas, priming, or pull cord |
| Weather resistance | IPX4-rated weather-resistant construction | Not specified in the supplied product data |
| Listed cutting capability | Not specified in the supplied product data | Listing says suitable for trees and limbs up to 28 inches in diameter |
| Included cutting accessory | Oregon R56 AdvanceCut chain for a 16-inch bar, 56 drive links | Not specified in the supplied product data |
| Price | $344.98 | $229.61 |
| Listed rating | 4.0/5 | 4.7/5 |
Performance
Core Performance
On paper, the EGO Power+ CS1613 has the more clearly defined high-output specification. Its 56V lithium-ion system is paired with a listed chain speed of 20 m/s, and that figure gives shoppers a useful indication of how quickly the chain is intended to move. The EGO also uses a 16-inch bar, making it comparable in reach to the Greenworks rather than a compact pruning saw.
Greenworks takes a different approach in its listing. Instead of publishing a chain-speed number, it identifies a 1.5kW brushless motor and describes the saw as handling trees and limbs up to 28 inches in diameter. That is an ambitious capability statement, and it makes the Greenworks attractive for storm cleanup and firewood work. However, the supplied information does not include an independent cutting test or enough detail to verify how quickly it reaches that diameter in real use.
The practical conclusion is not that one saw is guaranteed to cut faster in every log. EGO offers the stronger numerical chain-speed specification, while Greenworks offers the stronger stated diameter claim and a brushless motor. For ordinary homeowner cutting, both provide a 16-inch bar. For larger or tougher material, cutting technique, chain sharpness, wood species, and battery charge will affect results, and the available research does not provide a direct head-to-head test of these exact two models.
Handling & Ergonomics
Both saws avoid the fuel, exhaust, and pull-start routine of a gas chainsaw. Each package includes a 4.0Ah battery and charger, so neither requires a separate battery purchase to get started. That makes either model a straightforward choice for occasional property maintenance, provided the user is comfortable with a 16-inch chainsaw and follows appropriate chainsaw safety practices.
EGO’s tool-free chain tensioning system is its clearest handling advantage. Bar and chain adjustments can be made without a separate tool, which is useful because chain tension needs to be checked during use and after fitting a replacement chain. The product package also specifies an Oregon R56 AdvanceCut chain for a 16-inch bar with 56 drive links.
Greenworks emphasizes operation rather than adjustment. Its two-step easy-start system eliminates gas, priming, and a pull cord. That can make startup less frustrating for a homeowner moving from a corded electric saw or using a chainsaw only a few times each year. The listing also identifies a low-kickback design and chain brake, two features that are relevant to controlled operation.
There is not enough supplied information to name a weight winner. Neither listing provides the complete ready-to-cut weight with battery, nor does the research provide measured vibration data for these exact models. Buyers who expect long cutting sessions should not assume that either saw is lighter or more comfortable based only on its battery voltage or motor description.
Runtime / Fuel & Maintenance
Neither product uses gasoline, so fuel mixing, engine priming, spark-plug service, and carburetor maintenance are not part of the supplied ownership information. Both packages include a 4.0Ah lithium-ion battery and a charger. The EGO package pairs that battery with a 56V platform, while Greenworks pairs its battery with a 40V platform.
Greenworks provides the more specific battery-storage claim: the listing says the 40V 4.0Ah battery holds a charge for 12+ months and does not require frequent recharging between uses. It also describes extended cutting time, although no minute-based runtime figure is supplied. EGO’s product data does not include a runtime number, number of cuts, or storage claim, so a precise runtime comparison would go beyond the available evidence.
Battery chainsaw runtime is workload-dependent even when a manufacturer gives a nominal capacity. Cutting large hardwood, repeatedly forcing the chain, or using a dull chain will demand more energy than light limb work. Because no exact runtime test for the CS1613 and Greenworks 40V 16″ appears in the supplied research, treat both as task-dependent tools rather than buying either one on an assumed number of minutes.
Best Use Cases
- Routine yard cleanup: Both 16-inch saws are sized for homeowners who need cordless cutting without gas-engine startup.
- Storm cleanup: Greenworks explicitly positions the saw for storm cleanup and firewood splitting, while its listing also cites trees and limbs up to 28 inches in diameter.
- Adjustment-focused ownership: EGO is the more convenient choice if tool-free chain tensioning is a priority.
- Occasional use: Greenworks is appealing when simple two-step starting and a battery that holds charge for 12+ months matter more than the EGO’s higher listed chain speed.
- Wet-weather exposure: EGO has the clearer advantage because its construction is rated IPX4 weather-resistant. That does not mean it should be submerged or used carelessly in hazardous conditions.
Maintenance & Running Costs
Both chainsaws still require the normal cutting-system care expected of a battery chainsaw. The chain must remain sharp and correctly tensioned, the bar and chain need inspection, and chain oil should be maintained according to the product instructions. A battery motor removes many engine-related service tasks, but it does not make the cutting assembly maintenance-free.
EGO’s package includes an Oregon R56 AdvanceCut replacement chain specified for a 16-inch bar and 56 drive links. That gives the buyer a clearly identified replacement option within the supplied product data. EGO also provides tool-free chain tensioning, which can reduce the friction of routine adjustment.
Greenworks lists an automatic oiler, intended to simplify chain lubrication during operation. The product description also includes a chain brake and low-kickback design. The supplied data does not identify a replacement chain model, chain dimensions, or oil-reservoir capacity for Greenworks, so those details should be confirmed before buying consumables.
There are no supplied prices for replacement chains, bar oil, replacement batteries, or out-of-warranty service. As a result, the initial package price is the only reliable running-cost comparison here. Owners should also consider ecosystem cost: additional batteries and chargers can become a meaningful expense if the saw is the first tool in either battery platform.
Features & Usability
The EGO Power+ CS1613’s feature set is focused on power-platform specifications and convenient adjustment. The 16-inch bar provides the same nominal reach as Greenworks, while the listed 20 m/s chain speed gives EGO a concrete performance figure that Greenworks does not publish in the supplied data. Its IPX4-rated weather-resistant construction is also useful for homeowners who may encounter damp outdoor conditions, although weather resistance is not a substitute for safe operation or proper storage.
Tool-free chain tensioning is particularly helpful for a chainsaw used intermittently. New users do not have to search for a separate adjustment tool each time the chain needs attention. The included Oregon R56 AdvanceCut chain also makes the EGO package more specific for replacement planning than the available Greenworks information.
Greenworks provides a more homeowner-oriented group of convenience and safety features. The two-step start avoids gas, priming, and pulling. Its automatic oiler is designed to reduce manual lubrication intervention, and the chain brake and low-kickback design add safety-oriented equipment to the package. The brushless motor is listed at 1.5kW, and the product description targets heavy-duty yard work, storm cleanup, and firewood splitting.
The Greenworks battery claim is also notable for infrequent users. The manufacturer listing says the 40V 4.0Ah lithium-ion battery holds charge for 12+ months. It does not state a precise cutting runtime, so this should be understood as a storage and readiness claim rather than a promise of a specific number of cuts.
Neither product’s supplied data includes a noise rating, operating weight, vibration specification, charge time, warranty information, or a measured cut-speed result. Those omissions matter if you are choosing between them for daily professional work. For a homeowner comparison, however, the included battery and charger, 16-inch format, startup method, chain adjustment, and price create a useful basis for the decision.
Price & Value Analysis
The Greenworks 40V 16″ costs $229.61 with a 4.0Ah battery and charger included. The EGO Power+ CS1613 costs $344.98 with the same listed battery capacity and charger inclusion. The EGO therefore carries a $115.37 premium, which is a substantial difference for a homeowner buying a single chainsaw package.
Greenworks is worth choosing when the lower purchase price is central to the decision. It also has the better listed customer rating, 4.7/5 compared with EGO’s 4.0/5, and includes a brushless 1.5kW motor, automatic oiler, chain brake, low-kickback design, and two-step start. Its stated 12+ month charge-retention claim makes the package particularly attractive for seasonal or emergency use.
EGO can justify the extra cost when its specific advantages match your priorities. The 56V battery platform, listed 20 m/s chain speed, IPX4-rated weather-resistant construction, and tool-free chain tensioning provide a more detailed specification package. The EGO is the more defensible premium choice for buyers who value the higher listed chain-speed figure and the convenience of tool-free adjustment, rather than simply wanting the least expensive complete kit.
Value also depends on whether you already own compatible batteries. The supplied data identifies the included battery and charger for both products but does not establish compatibility with every other tool in either brand’s range. If you are building a broader cordless yard-tool collection, verify platform compatibility and the cost of additional batteries before treating the package price as the full ownership cost.
Which Should You Buy?
Choose EGO Power+ CS1613 if…
- You want the higher listed electrical specification, including a 56V battery system and 20 m/s chain speed.
- You value tool-free chain tensioning for faster bar and chain adjustments.
- IPX4-rated weather-resistant construction is important for your outdoor storage or working conditions.
- You prefer the included Oregon R56 AdvanceCut chain with its stated 16-inch, 56-drive-link specification.
- You are willing to spend $115.37 more for EGO’s feature and specification package.
Choose Greenworks 40V 16″ if…
- You want the lower-cost complete package at $229.61.
- You prefer a brushless motor, automatic oiler, chain brake, and low-kickback design in the listed feature set.
- You want two-step starting without gas, priming, or a pull cord.
- You expect to use the saw for yard work, storm cleanup, or firewood tasks described by the listing.
- You value the higher listed customer rating of 4.7/5 and the claim that the battery holds charge for 12+ months.
Consider a different model if…
- You need a verified runtime, weight, vibration, noise, charge-time, or professional-duty specification that is not supplied for either of these exact models.
- You routinely cut material beyond the practical capability of a 16-inch homeowner chainsaw and need a model whose larger-bar performance has been independently tested.
- You need a pole saw, compact pruning saw, or another specialized format rather than a standard 16-inch chainsaw.
- You require clearly documented replacement-battery, service, warranty, or consumable pricing before committing to a battery ecosystem.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the EGO CS1613 more powerful than the Greenworks 40V 16″?
The supplied specifications favor EGO in listed voltage and chain speed: it uses 56V and lists a 20 m/s chain speed. Greenworks lists a 1.5kW brushless motor and a claimed ability to handle trees and limbs up to 28 inches in diameter. Because there is no direct test of these exact models in the supplied research, it is not possible to declare a universal cutting-speed winner from those figures alone.
Which chainsaw has the longer battery runtime?
Neither listing provides a minute-based runtime or cut count. Both include a 4.0Ah battery. Greenworks does provide the more specific storage statement, saying the battery holds a charge for 12+ months, but that is not the same as a measured cutting-runtime figure. Actual runtime will vary with wood size, species, chain condition, and cutting pressure.
Are both chainsaws suitable for storm cleanup?
Greenworks explicitly describes its 40V 16″ model as suitable for heavy-duty yard work and storm cleanup, and says it handles trees and limbs up to 28 inches in diameter. EGO’s supplied data confirms a 16-inch bar, 20 m/s chain speed, and weather-resistant construction but does not include a storm-cleanup or diameter claim. Use either saw only within your experience and the manufacturer’s safety guidance.
Which model is the better deal in 2026?
Greenworks is the better deal on the supplied prices. It costs $229.61, compared with $344.98 for EGO, while including a 4.0Ah battery and charger and carrying the higher listed rating of 4.7/5. EGO is worth the additional $115.37 when you specifically want its 56V system, listed 20 m/s chain speed, IPX4-rated construction, and tool-free chain tensioning.
