Quick Answer: EGO Select Cut vs Greenworks 80V, Which Should You Buy in 2026?
Buy the EGO Select Cut if you want the longest stated single-charge runtime, customizable multi-blade cutting, and a lighter-feeling push-mower experience. Choose the Greenworks 80V if rear-wheel-drive self-propulsion matters more than manual pushing, particularly on a larger or sloped lawn. The Greenworks costs $40.99 more at the listed prices: $699.99 versus $659.00 for the EGO. Both kits include a battery and rapid charger and carry a 4.5/5 Amazon rating.
Winner by Category

| Category | Winner | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Power/Suction | Greenworks 80V | Its 80V brushless motor is described as providing more torque, while the EGO uses a 56V high-efficiency brushless motor. |
| Cutting performance | EGO Select Cut | The EGO has a Select Cut multi-blade system for customizable cutting performance and a 21-inch deck with seven height positions from 1.5 to 4 inches. |
| Navigation/Ease of use | Greenworks 80V | Rear-wheel-drive, variable-speed self-propulsion reduces the effort needed to move the mower across the lawn. |
| Pet hair or handling | EGO Select Cut | The EGO is a cordless push mower with low vibration and one-handed height adjustment; no pet-hair test result is provided. |
| Runtime/Battery | EGO Select Cut | EGO states up to 65 minutes with its included 56V 7.5Ah ARC Lithium battery. Greenworks states cutting up to 1/2 acre with its 4.0Ah battery, depending on conditions and technique. |
| Noise | Tie | Both use brushless electric motors and are described as quiet or low-vibration alternatives, but no measured sound levels are provided. |
| Price & value | EGO Select Cut | It is $40.99 less while including a larger-capacity 7.5Ah battery and rapid charger. Greenworks counters with self-propulsion and access to 75+ compatible tools. |
Pros
- Lifetime warranty on the 22-inch aluminum deck
- Select Cut system with interchangeable lower blades
- Touch Drive self-propelled control with speed dial
- Manufacturer-stated 11.1 ft-lbs torque and 3,350 RPM blade speed
Cons
- Battery and charger are not included
- Listed weight of 83.8 pounds may limit maneuverability
Pros
- 21-inch steel deck listed for tall grass
- Push-button start with no pull cord
- Seven-position height adjustment
- Works with 75+ Greenworks 80V tools per listing
Cons
- Listed weight of 90 pounds limits portability
- Coverage and power claims are manufacturer-stated
Specifications Side-by-Side
| Specification | EGO Select Cut LM2135 | Greenworks 80V 21-inch Self-Propelled |
|---|---|---|
| Brand | EGO Power+ | Greenworks |
| Product type | Cordless push lawn mower | Self-propelled cordless lawn mower |
| Deck width | 21 inches | 21 inches |
| Motor | High-efficiency brushless motor | Brushless motor |
| Battery voltage | 56V | 80V |
| Included battery | 7.5Ah ARC Lithium | 4.0Ah |
| Stated runtime or coverage | Up to 65 minutes on one charge | Up to 1/2 acre on a full charge, varying with grass condition and operator technique |
| Charger | Rapid charger included | Rapid charger included |
| Cutting-height adjustment | Seven positions, 1.5 to 4 inches | Seven cutting heights |
| Cutting system | Select Cut multi-blade system | Single mower cutting system; detailed blade configuration is not provided |
| Operating functions | Mulching, bagging, and side discharge | Listing identifies a 21-inch mower; detailed operating-function information is not provided in manufacturer specifications |
| Drive system | Push | Rear-wheel drive with variable-speed self-propulsion |
| Lights | Bright LED headlights | LED lights |
| Compatible tool platform | Not specified in manufacturer specifications | 75+ compatible tools |
| Listed price | $659.00 | $699.99 |
| Amazon rating | 4.5/5 | 4.5/5 |
Performance
Core Performance
These are both full-size 21-inch cordless mowers, so neither gives up cutting width compared with the other. The more important distinction is how each delivers its cutting capability. EGO’s Select Cut system uses multiple blades and is specifically presented as a way to customize cutting performance. Its high-efficiency brushless motor is also described as delivering long runtimes, low vibration, and long-term durability.
The Greenworks mower takes a higher-voltage approach. Its 80V brushless motor is described as delivering more torque, quiet operation, and longer life, and its durable deck is made from steel. Voltage alone does not establish a direct cutting-power measurement, because manufacturer specifications does not include a measured wattage, blade speed, or grass-throughput test. Still, the Greenworks specification favors demanding mowing when motor torque is the priority.
The EGO offers more cutting-height detail: seven positions covering 1.5 to 4 inches. That range accommodates shorter finished grass as well as a taller setting, and its one-handed height adjustment should make changes quicker. Greenworks also lists seven cutting heights, but manufacturer specifications does not provide the exact range. Readers comparing setup options can review our technical analysis on lawn mower spark plug gap chart.
Handling & Ergonomics
The fundamental handling choice is push versus self-propelled. EGO’s LM2135 is a push mower, which means the operator supplies the forward movement. That can be a benefit in tight spaces and around obstacles because there is no drive system to manage. The motor is described as low vibration, and the quick push-button start keeps operation straightforward.
Greenworks uses rear-wheel-drive self-propulsion with variable speed. That is the clear advantage for long passes, heavier turf, slopes, or anyone who would rather not push a mower’s full weight. manufacturer specifications does not state the mower’s weight or the exact speed range, so it is not possible to rank the two on lifting effort or maximum walking speed. The drive system does, however, make the Greenworks the more convenient choice for powered travel. For complementary field maintenance guidelines, examine our breakdown of how to store lawn mower battery in winter.
Both models have LED lighting, useful when a mowing session starts early or runs later in the day. The EGO specifically lists bright LED headlights, while Greenworks lists LED lights. Neither product record supplies a measured turning radius, handle adjustment range, deck weight, or bag capacity, so those factors should not decide this comparison without checking the current listing.
Runtime / Fuel & Maintenance
EGO provides the clearer runtime figure: up to 65 minutes on a single charge using the included 56V 7.5Ah ARC Lithium battery. “Up to” is a best-case manufacturer claim rather than a guaranteed mowing time; thick, wet, or tall grass can change the result. Even so, the included 7.5Ah pack gives this kit a substantial battery specification for a 21-inch push mower. To evaluate matched hardware tolerances, consult our detailed overview of how to change lawn mower oil.
Greenworks describes the included 4.0Ah battery as capable of cutting up to 1/2 acre on a full charge. The listing explicitly says that coverage varies with grass condition and operator technique. Acreage is useful for matching the mower to a property, but it is not directly interchangeable with EGO’s minutes because mowing speed, terrain, blade load, and operator pace affect both measurements.
Neither mower needs the routine fuel-related tasks associated with a gasoline mower, based on the supplied product descriptions: both are cordless electric models with brushless motors. The purchase packages include rapid chargers, which helps reduce downtime between mowing sessions. The data does not state charging times, battery-cycle life, warranty terms, replacement-battery prices, or a detailed cleaning schedule. When planning workspace deployment, consider the engineering criteria outlined in our self propelled vs push mowers guide.
Best Use Cases
- EGO Select Cut: Best for homeowners who want customizable cutting, a stated runtime of up to 65 minutes, three mowing modes, and a lower kit price.
- Greenworks 80V: Best for users who want rear-wheel-drive self-propulsion, a steel deck, higher-voltage motor design, and a battery platform advertised as supporting 75+ compatible tools.
- Smaller or obstacle-filled lawns: The EGO’s push layout can be simpler to control when frequent starts, stops, and direction changes matter more than powered travel.
- Larger or sloped lawns: Greenworks’ self-propulsion is the more compelling feature when pushing effort is the main concern, and the manufacturer provides a coverage claim of up to 1/2 acre.
Maintenance & Running Costs
manufacturer specifications does not identify recurring consumables such as replacement blades, bags, filters, belts, or oil for either mower. Both use brushless electric motors, and both kits include their battery and rapid charger, so the initial purchase does not require a separate charger purchase. Routine ownership should still include keeping the cutting area clear, checking the blade and deck, and following the manufacturer’s instructions before cleaning or servicing; the specific maintenance interval is not provided here.
Battery replacement is the potentially important long-term cost, but neither listing provides a replacement-pack price or battery warranty. EGO includes a 56V 7.5Ah ARC Lithium battery, while Greenworks includes a 4.0Ah battery. If you already own compatible tools, platform compatibility can change the value calculation: Greenworks explicitly advertises compatibility with 75+ tools, while the supplied EGO product data does not state a compatible-tool count.
There is no gasoline, engine oil, spark plug, or fuel storage mentioned in either product description. That makes both models attractive for buyers seeking a simpler electric ownership routine. It would be inappropriate to assign a precise annual running-cost advantage without electricity rates, charging frequency, replacement-part prices, and battery-life data.
Features & Usability
EGO packs several usability features into the LM2135. Push-button starting avoids pull-starting, and one-handed height adjustment makes it easier to change the cut setting. The 3-in-1 design supports mulching, bagging, and side discharge, so the mower can suit different approaches to handling clippings. Bright LED headlights add visibility, while the Select Cut multi-blade system gives the mower a more configurable cutting identity than a basic single-mode model.
Greenworks focuses its feature set on assisted movement and platform breadth. Rear-wheel drive and variable-speed self-propulsion are more significant in daily use than a cosmetic feature because they directly affect how much effort the operator supplies. The 80V brushless motor, durable steel deck, LED lights, rapid charger, and included 4.0Ah battery round out the kit. Its advertised 75+ compatible tools may be valuable to buyers building a larger Greenworks system.
There are a few information gaps. The supplied Greenworks data does not state an exact cutting-height range, while the EGO data does. Conversely, EGO is identified as a push mower, whereas Greenworks clearly specifies self-propulsion. Neither record provides deck weight, bag capacity, charging duration, sound measurements, or a detailed control layout. Those omissions matter if storage, transport, or noise is a deciding factor.
Price & Value Analysis
At the listed prices, EGO costs $659.00 and Greenworks costs $699.99, a difference of $40.99. Both have a 4.5/5 rating in the supplied Amazon product data, so the higher Greenworks price is not supported by a rating difference. Instead, the premium pays for the self-propelled configuration, an 80V platform, a steel deck, and stated compatibility with 75+ tools.
The EGO is the stronger value if you are comfortable pushing. For less money, it includes a 7.5Ah battery, rapid charger, 3-in-1 mowing functions, the Select Cut multi-blade system, and a stated runtime of up to 65 minutes. Its price advantage is especially meaningful if you do not need powered drive and would rather prioritize battery capacity and cutting flexibility.
Greenworks is worth the extra $40.99 when self-propulsion will be used regularly. Rear-wheel drive with variable speed can make a larger lawn or slope less tiring, and the steel deck plus 80V brushless motor gives the package a more heavy-duty specification. The value improves further for someone already invested in Greenworks 80V tools or planning to use the advertised 75+ tool ecosystem.
Which Should You Buy?
Choose EGO Select Cut if…
- You want the lower listed price: $659.00 versus $699.99.
- You prefer a stated single-charge runtime of up to 65 minutes with the included 56V 7.5Ah battery.
- You want customizable cutting performance from a Select Cut multi-blade system.
- You need mulching, bagging, and side-discharge options in one mower.
- You are comfortable pushing rather than paying extra for self-propulsion.
- You value one-handed height adjustment, push-button starting, and low-vibration operation.
Choose Greenworks 80V if…
- You want rear-wheel-drive self-propulsion with variable speed.
- Your main concern is reducing pushing effort across a larger or sloped lawn.
- You prefer a durable steel deck and an 80V brushless motor designed for torque.
- You want the manufacturer’s stated coverage of up to 1/2 acre on a full 4.0Ah battery charge.
- You already own, or plan to buy, other Greenworks tools in the advertised 75+ compatible-tool system.
- You accept paying $40.99 more for powered movement and the Greenworks platform.
Consider a different model if…
- You need a mower with a documented weight, exact noise measurement, bag capacity, or charging time, because those specifications are not supplied for this comparison.
- You need a different deck size or a riding mower for a property outside the intended walk-behind format.
- You specifically require a verified replacement-battery price, warranty term, or long-term battery-life estimate before buying.
- You do not want to push and also do not want to pay for a self-propelled mower; neither product record provides another drive configuration in this pair.
Not sure between these two? Our complete guide to Best Walk-Behind Lawn Mowers covers more options at every price point.
Common Questions on Ego Select Cut Vs Greenworks 80v Self Propelled Answered
Is the EGO Select Cut self-propelled?
No. manufacturer specifications identifies the LM2135 as a cordless push mower. The Greenworks 80V model is the self-propelled option, with rear-wheel drive and variable speed.
Which mower has the longer battery runtime?
EGO has the clearer time-based claim: up to 65 minutes with the included 56V 7.5Ah ARC Lithium battery. Greenworks instead states up to 1/2 acre with its included 4.0Ah battery, with results varying according to grass condition and operator technique. The two claims measure different things, so they should not be treated as identical runtime tests.
Do both mowers have a 21-inch deck?
Yes. Both the EGO Select Cut LM2135 and the Greenworks 80V model have a 21-inch deck. EGO provides a seven-position height range from 1.5 to 4 inches; Greenworks lists seven cutting heights but manufacturer specifications does not state the exact range.
Is the Greenworks 80V worth more than the EGO?
It can be, if you will use self-propulsion. Greenworks costs $40.99 more and adds rear-wheel-drive variable-speed movement, a steel deck, and access to a platform advertised as supporting 75+ compatible tools. If you are happy to push, the EGO costs less and includes a larger 7.5Ah battery, a stated runtime of up to 65 minutes, and Select Cut functionality.
Related Comparisons
- Best Lawn Mowers
- Best Cordless Tools
- Outdoor Power Equipment Comparisons
Safety Resources for Battery Mowers
Battery powered outdoor equipment has its own handling considerations, and general safety guidance for power tools is available from American National Standards Institute (ANSI). Reading the manufacturer’s manual before any cutting job is still the first step.
